You’ve Got Your Troubles I’ve Got Mine

Real-Trouble-Sign

I was a boy when the musical group The Fortunes had a big hit called You’ve Got Your Troubles. The song starts out, “I see that worried look upon your face. You’ve got your troubles, I got mine.” It goes on, “You need some sympathy, well so do I. You’ve got your troubles, I got mine.” The troubled soul sadly explains, “And so forgive me if I seem unkind. You’ve got your troubles, I got mine. I’d help another place, another time. You’ve got your troubles, I got mine.”

We all experience trouble, It just seems to be part of the human experience. Ann Landers wrote, “If I were asked to give what I consider the single most useful bit of advice for all humanity it would be this: Expect trouble as an inevitable part of life and when it comes, hold you head high, look it squarely in eye and say, ‘I will be bigger than you. You cannot defeat me.’”  

Jesus said it this way, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble.                 But take heart! I have overcome the world.” Jn.16:33 NIV. The Apostle James wrote, “Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles            come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy.” James 1:2 NLT.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the LORD comes to the rescue each   time.” Ps. 34:19  NLT

 

Life’s troubles can leave us bitter or better. Life is hard, but good.

 

Job had negative emotional responses when trouble came. (Job chapter 3 NIV) (vs 25) “What I feared has come upon me; what I dreaded has happened to me.” (vs26)  “I have no peace, no quietness; I have no rest, but only turmoil.” He wished he had never been born (vs1). “After this, Job opened his mouth and cursed the day of his birth.” He wished he had been stillborn (vs 11). “Why did I not perish at birth, and die as I came from the womb?” He wished he were dead (vs 21). “to those who long for death that does not come, who search for it more than for hidden treasure.”

What should you to do in times of trouble?

Do not be afraid of sudden terror, Nor of trouble from the wicked when it comes;”    Prov. 3:25 (We are not to be afraid            of trouble). Why? Because. . . “The LORD is a shelter for the oppressed, a refuge in times of trouble.” Ps. 9:9 NLT

Don’t turn to man’s help. Give us help from trouble, for the help of man is useless.
Ps 60:11 NKJV (Always turn to God first).

Call upon Me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify Me.” Ps 50:15 NKJV

“When they cried out to the LORD in their trouble, and he delivered them from their distress.” Ps 107:6 NIV

“Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.” Rom. 12:12 NLT

Read God’s Word (the Bible) for comfort and joy in the midst of trouble (especially   the Psalms). “Trouble and                         distress have  come upon me, but your commands are my delight.” Ps 119:143 NIV

The Apostle Paul said, “We must through many tribulations enter the kingdom of God” (Acts 14:22 NKJV). The ancient Greek word for “Kingdom” is “Basileia. ” It means to have dominion, royal power, kingship, rule, and authority. Going through, and coming out victorious on the other side of trouble, gives us authority to strengthen others in trouble. “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God” (2 Cor. 1:3-4 NIV).

Trouble can’t separate us from God’s love, nor is it a measure of it. “Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean he no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or hungry, or destitute, or in danger, or threatened with death?” (Rom. 8:35 NLT).

God promises to be with us and help us in our times of trouble. “When you go through deep waters, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown. When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you” (Isaiah  43:2 NLT).

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” Ps. 46:1 NIV

One comment on “You’ve Got Your Troubles I’ve Got Mine

  1. Glenna Carter says:

    This is so true and so good. Many today think that if we are Christians, everything in our lives will be without troubles. That is such a lie. I know I have gained my greatest strength and have grown closest to The Lord during my biggest trials. Great word!

Leave a Reply

