God With Us

God With Us

I think I’m finally starting to get what God is really up to. Even after 40 years of being a Christian and reading the Bible nearly every day of those 40 years, I’m just beginning to understand God a little bit more. It’s all there in Matthew 1:23, “Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us” KJV. The first part of the verse is from Isaiah’s prophecy about Jesus Christ 700 years before His birth, but Matthew tagged on the words, God with us.” He didn’t want us to miss this extremely important announcement.

I love Psalm 37:23, “The LORD directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives” NLT. It doesn’t just say He knows about the details of our lives, but He also delights in the details of our lives. Jesus said, “But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered” Luke 12:7 KJV. Notice He didn’t say, “God has your hair strands counted.” He has them inventoried and has assigned a number to each one of them! (For me it’s more like He knows how many hairs I used to have on my head).

Some people pray about everything from lost car keys to the color of shoes they should buy. Other people feel God is only interested in hearing prayers concerning serious issues like poverty, war, disease and the economy. They feel He is too busy with big world events to bother with our little daily problems. I’m sure praying about what color carpet we should use in the church sanctuary may not be on the same level of priority to God as the atrocity of child soldiers in South Sudan, but His Word clearly tells us that He is interested in the events of our everyday lives. Listen to what David, the psalmist said, “O LORD, you have examined my heart and know everything about me. You know when I sit down or stand up. You know my thoughts even when I’m far away. You see me when I travel and when I rest at home. You know everything I do. You know what I am going to say even before I say it, LORD. You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand! I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence! You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me!” Psalm 139:1-8, 16-18 NLT.

I’m not trying to trivialize God Almighty, but His desire has always been to hang out with us ever since His daily strolls through the garden with Adam and Eve. My best friend Dan lives in Canada. I’ve known him since I was 18 years old. He visits me in Pittsburgh twice a year. When he visits, he wants to know all the details of my immediate and even my extended family. He is like a member of our family. He is as much at home in Pittsburgh as he is in his hometown in Canada. He loves to know everything that’s happening with me, my family and my city. God is the same way. He delights in the details of our lives. Emmanuel means God is with us. He promised us that He would never leave us or forsake us. He said, “When you go through deep waters, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown. When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you” Isaiah 43:2 NLT.

There are scientists called Astronomers who study the vastness of the universe. Equally important are those scientists who study nothing but micro-organisms. Likewise, God is fully aware of what’s happening with all of the galaxies and planets and He is equally aware of things so tiny that they are invisible to the human eye. The Bible says, “In Him we live and move and have our being.” There is nothing outside of God. There is no universe that is beyond Him, nor any micro-organism too small for Him to see. My point is, He can handle the big stuff in the universe and on planet earth, as well as the small stuff in our daily lives.

I know we were made to bring Him glory. I also know we are to serve His will, and not the other way around. I understand that He wants to be Lord of our lives and we are created for His pleasure. But for some reason He enjoys the details of our lives, and that brings Him glory and pleasure. He actually wants to go to work with us each day. He even wants to workout at the gym with us. He likes to sit with us as we cuddle with our spouse. He desires to live with us in our home. He enjoys riding with us in our car, bicycle, boat, or motorcycle. He will run that 5K race with you if you invite Him to. God goes where He is invited. What should our response be to this good news that God is with us? The Bible tells us to, “Open up, ancient doors, and let the King of glory enter” Psalm 24:7 NLT. We only need to welcome the King of Glory into our daily lives. Come on in Jesus! Come in to my heart, my home, my family, my job, my finances, and my life! Oh by the way, if He can locate a lost axe head by making it float on the water (see 2 Kings 6:5-7), He can help you find your lost cars keys too.

2 comments on “God With Us

  1. jorymicah says:

    John Piper talks about this: He says that “God is must glorified when we are most satisfied in Him.”

  2. April Ryan says:

    I love this! This is what makes God real in our lives!!

Leave a Reply

